The Utah Medical Cannabis Act specifies that medical marijuana may only be taken as a capsule, a gelatin cube that can be chewed or dissolved, concentrated oil, liquid suspension, skin patch, or sublingual pill. The act also allows for medicinal marijuana in Utah to be administered as a resin or wax or through vaping. When having medical marijuana outside of the home, a patient must carry proof that he or she can use cannabis for medicinal purposes.
With a doctor’s recommendation, a patient can assign up to two people help to obtain medical marijuana legally. The Medical Cannabis Act says cardholders can only possess less than 113 grams, or 4 ounces, of unprocessed cannabis; or a cannabis product with less than 20 grams of THC. According to Utah state law, possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. A second conviction is a class A misdemeanor, while a third or subsequent conviction could result in a third degree felony. Possession of 1 ounce to 1 pound is a class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,500. Possession of more than 1 pound will result in a felony, even for first-time offenders. The UDAF is in charge of cannabis cultivation and processing.
The altered Medical Cannabis Act removes Proposition 2’s wording that allowed for home cultivation. In terms of how to get a medical card in Utah , beginning March 1, 2020, the UDOH may start issuing cards within 15 days of receiving an eligible application for the Utah Medical Cannabis Program . Under the state’s medical marijuana laws , an applicant must be at least 18 years old or have a parent or guardian 18 or older. Patients younger than 21 will need to have their application approved by the Compassionate Use Board. Medical conditions qualifying for cannabis under the Utah Medical Cannabis Program include: Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease Autism Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis Epilepsy or debilitating seizures HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms Persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to pregnancy or cannabis-induced syndromes Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist Terminal illness by which the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months or conditions resulting in hospice care A rare condition or disease that affects fewer than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined by federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions A condition that the Compassionate Use Board (once established) approves on a case-by-case basis. For those with ongoing and debilitating pain, a doctor must conclude that the patient has pain lasting for more than two weeks or doesn’t respond to traditional medication other than opioids or opiates. For conditions not specified, a Compassionate Use Board of medical specialists will review on a case-by-case basis whether medical cannabis is acceptable for treatment. Applicants must submit an electronic application linked to an electronic verification system while in the recommending physician’s office. The card is valid for 30 days after it’s first issued, 60 days after it’s first renewed, and six months after the second renewal, or less, depending on the determination of the patient’s doctor. 3, 2018, the possession of CBD oil containing less than 0.3% THC no longer requires a hemp extract registration card. Therefore, the Utah Department of Health no longer accepts applications or renews hemp extract registration cards. Up to two people may help buy and possess medical cannabis for a patient with a disability or “undue hardship” if they have a medical cannabis card with the name of the patient and designated caregiver. A health department is expected to issue medical marijuana cards to a designated caregiver within 30 days of receiving a qualified application. They must be at least 21 years old, a Utah resident, and not be convicted of a drug distribution offense. The card is valid for the amount of time designated by the patient’s medical card and can be renewed automatically when the cardholder updates his or her status as a caregiver. Utah doesn’t recognize medical cards issued by other states. Only Utah residents who are medical marijuana cardholders may buy cannabis from medical pharmacies in Utah. The UDAF is in charge of cannabis cultivation and processing. The new Medical Cannabis Act removes Proposition 2’s original wording that allowed for home cultivation. Following the lead of states across the country, Utah is becoming one of the best places to buy CBD products in the Mountain West, with in-stock shops in the Salt Lake City Area, Layton, Kaysville, Ogden, and St. Below we’ve collected a list of the places you can currently get CBD oil in Utah. One of the fastest-growing health and wellness products on the market, hemp-derived CBD, or cannabidioil, offers both recreational and health benefits, including stress reduction, anti-psychotic properties, and evidence of potential cancer prevention. Most importantly, hemp-derived CBD contains zero intoxicating elements, so you can feel safe using it as an oil, lotion, edible, juice, tincture, or any other available form. Medical marijuana use in Utah has been making steady progress over the years. The first step took place in 2014 when marijuana-derived CBD and other marijuana extracts were legalized for medicinal use for eligible patients.
Legality expanded in 2018 to actually include marijuana instead of just extracts. Marijuana is not legal for recreational use in Utah; it is, in fact, still criminalized.
Due to that, you can only use marijuana-derived CBD if you have a qualifying condition and a prescription from your physician.