South of the city, Alternatives (4663 W 6200th S, West Jordan, UT 84118) is a 5-star rated vape shop that opened in 2015, as well. In addition to high-quality CBD products, the store carries Kratom, mods, premium e-juices, organic detoxes, concentrate vaporizers, and vaping accessories. Customers compliment the store’s friendly atmosphere, affordable prices, and responsive, helpful staff. Open seven days a week: Monday-Friday 9AM-11PM, Saturday 10AM-11PM, Sunday 10AM-8PM.
Smoke Spot (1074 W S Jordan Pkwy, South Jordan, UT 84095) is conveniently located just off I-15, with a wide range of e-juices, Kratom, mods, and CBD products. Reviewers highlight personal customer service, and prices are fair and affordable. Established in 1993, Aloha Nutrition (1948 Woodland Park Dr, Layton, UT 84041) is an independently owned and locally operated nutritional and herbal shop that specializes in a variety of alternative medicine products, including essential oils, Kava, hemp, and high-quality CBD oils. With over forty years of experience in the natural foods and holistic medicine business, the owner is an excellent source of information and direction for buying the right CBD product for your individual needs. Prices are affordable, and online deals like free samples are often available. Green Horizen (140 N Main St, Kaysville, UT 84037) is a 5-star rated store. Established in 2016, Green Horizen specializes in 99% pure CBD oil, on which customers are offered a 60-day money back guarantee. Customers are also invited to join the store’s exclusive affiliate program, and the friendly, knowledgeable staff is eager to find the right CBD product on a case-by-case individual basis.
Established in 2013, Gourmet Vapor (1167 W 12th St, Ogden, UT 84404) has one of Utah’s widest selections of vaporizer, vape accessories, and hemp-derived CBD products, plus 130 e-liquid flavors. Brands include Kanger, Smok, Joyetech, UD, A+Mods, Asmodus, Innokin, EHpro, Vapowire, Provape, Sigelei, Heatvape, Vaporshark, Pioneer 4 you, Kooper, I-Joy, Dovpo, and Nitecore, among others. Open seven days a week: Monday-Saturday 8AM-9PM, Sunday 10AM-7PM. The Healing Herb / Magic Stuff Balms (71 N 100th W, St. George, UT 84770) carries relieving balms, skin care balms, essential oil blends, vitamins, and a variety of high-quality CBD products, including CBD oral sprays and CBD topical balms. With over 18 years of experience, the owners are highly knowledgeable in holistic and alternative herbal medicines, and are happy to assist both CBD novices and enthusiasts. In Utah, medical cannabis is available to patients with qualifying conditions as designated by Proposition 2. Recreational-use cannabis remains illegal, and possession of small amounts may result in criminal penalties. Utah voters have expanded access to medical cannabis. 6, 2018, Utahns approved Proposition 2, allowing patients to obtain and use medical marijuana. It also allows the creation of state-licensed facilities to grow, process, test, or sell cannabis for medicinal purposes and regulates those facilities, which include employing electronic systems to track cannabis inventory and purchases, limiting certain product types, and imposing requirements and limits on packages and advertisements. Legal protections under Proposition 2 Utah took effect Dec. 1, 2018, but much of what is outlined in the proposition — such as issuing cards to licensing dispensaries — won’t be effective until 2020. In the weeks leading to Election Day, the fervor generated by Proposition 2 Utah prompted Republican Gov. Gary Herbert, the Utah Legislature, and proposition proponents and opponents — including the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the largest religious community in the state — to craft a compromise cannabis law regardless of whether Proposition 2 passed. The compromise bill called for relaxing medical cannabis card renewal requirements, tightening qualifications for who can be a caregiver or guardian, offering employment protections for patients, and regulating how medical marijuana may be consumed. Prior to the passage of the altered Proposition 2 Utah , Herbert signed HB 105 in March 2014, amending Utah’s Code related to Hemp. This allowed the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) to grow industrial hemp for the purposes of agriculture or academic research. The bill also legalized possession and consumption of low-THC cannabidiol (CBD) oil for individuals with intractable epilepsy. HB 195, signed into law in 2018, granted terminally ill patients the right to try marijuana for medical purposes. A companion bill, HB 197 , also signed in 2018, gives Utah a monopoly on marijuana cultivation, processing, and sales of medical cannabis. However, in August 2019 after county-level attorneys advised the Legislature that state-run dispensaries would put public employees at risk of federal prosecution, Republican Senate Majority Leader Evan Vickers modified the plan to distribute medical marijuana through as many as 12 privately run dispensaries. The Legislature must approve the law during a special session.
Under current Utah weed laws , the Utah Department of Health (UDOH) is in charge of issuing patients medical cannabis cards, registering doctors recommending cannabis, and licensing dispensaries. Currently, there are no facilities in Utah that are licensed to legally sell medical cannabis. When the state licenses private medical cannabis pharmacies, patients 18 and older, a parent or legal guardian of a minor patient, and designated caregivers may purchase medical cannabis. All cards for patients younger than 21 must be approved by Utah’s Compassionate Use Board. According to Utah law , patients may use medical cannabis if they have a qualifying condition and a doctor’s recommendation. They aren’t allowed to use cannabis in public unless it’s a medical emergency, nor can they use it while driving a vehicle. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act specifies that medical marijuana may only be taken as a capsule, a gelatin cube that can be chewed or dissolved, concentrated oil, liquid suspension, skin patch, or sublingual pill. The act also allows for medicinal marijuana in Utah to be administered as a resin or wax or through vaping. When having medical marijuana outside of the home, a patient must carry proof that he or she can use cannabis for medicinal purposes.
With a doctor’s recommendation, a patient can assign up to two people help to obtain medical marijuana legally. The Medical Cannabis Act says cardholders can only possess less than 113 grams, or 4 ounces, of unprocessed cannabis; or a cannabis product with less than 20 grams of THC. According to Utah state law, possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. A second conviction is a class A misdemeanor, while a third or subsequent conviction could result in a third degree felony.