Categories
BLOG

is cbd legal in missouri

LEARN | LAWS & REGULATIONS

Missouri

Is weed legal in Missouri?

Adult-use, or recreational, marijuana is illegal in Missouri.

Medical marijuana is legal for patients with a qualifying condition. Patients must register with the state to obtain an ID card .

Legislation history

The Missouri Legislature in 2014 passed HB 2238 , which created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). It granted Missouri residents diagnosed with intractable epilepsy a registration card that allowed legal possession, purchase, and use of hemp extract as long as it had no more than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) by weight, included at least 5% cannabidiol (CBD) by weight, and contained no intoxicating substances.

Also in 2014, SB 491 made the first-time offense of possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana a misdemeanor punishable by a fine. Possession of greater quantities is considered a felony.

On Nov. 6, 2018, Missouri voters approved Amendment 2 , a ballot initiative to legalize medical marijuana use as recommended by state-licensed physicians and create regulations for licensing and certification. Amendment 2, the Medical Marijuana and Veteran Health-care Service Initiative, went into effect Dec. 6, 2018.

The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) administers medical marijuana regulations and processes online applications for patients and caregivers. The state’s 4% tax on retail marijuana sales is dedicated to the Missouri Veteran’s Health and Care Fund.

Regulatory authority

Missouri’s medical marijuana program is administered by the Missouri DHSS .

Where is it safe to purchase cannabis in Missouri?

Patients and caregivers with ID cards from DHSS can purchase medical marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary or have it delivered.

The qualifying patient’s physician may certify up to 4 ounces, or 113 grams, of dried, unprocessed marijuana or its equivalent in a 30-day period. For possession limits, 1 ounce, or 28.35 grams, of dried, unprocessed marijuana is equivalent to 8 grams of medical marijuana concentrate or 800 milligrams of THC in infused products.

If a patient possesses an amount of marijuana between the possessor’s legal limit and twice the legal limit, the patient may be fined $200 and have their medical identification card revoked.

All medical marijuana purchased from a dispensary must be in its original packaging.

Where is it safe to consume cannabis in Missouri?

Consumption is only legal in private. Missouri, unlike other states, has a specific provision for property owners to dedicate a consumption space for qualifying patients, who may be accompanied by family, a caregiver, or a physician. Property owners also may limit the use of medical marijuana to non-smokable forms of consumption.

Home cultivation of marijuana in Missouri

Patients with a state-issued medical marijuana identification card and a secure facility may cultivate their own cannabis. Patients must provide the garden’s address, their patient license number, a statement that allows DHSS to inspect the garden, a signature, and payment of fees. Failing to provide access results in the immediate revocation of the license.

All cultivation must take place in an enclosed, locked facility. One patient may have up to six flowering plants, six nonflowering plants taller than 14 inches (35.5 centimeters), and six clones shorter than 14 inches (35.5 centimeters). Two patients may share one enclosed, locked facility. No more than 12 plants may be cultivated in a single space, unless the caregiver is cultivating on behalf of a third patient, in which case they may cultivate a total of 18 plants. The plants must be labeled with the patient’s name, and the cultivation authorization issued by the department must be displayed near the plants.

Medical marijuana registry

Qualifying conditions include:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Intractable migraines
  • Neuropathy
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other debilitating psychiatric disorders
  • Sickle cell disease
  • Terminal illness
  • Any chronic condition treated with a medication that could lead to dependence
  • Chronic conditions causing severe, persistent pain or muscle spasms including:
    • Multiple sclerosis
    • Parkinson’s disease
    • Seizures
    • Tourette’s syndrome

Providers

Physicians need to complete the physician certification form, which recommends an amount of cannabis and specifies the qualifying condition. It must be uploaded as an attachment to the patient’s application.

Reciprocity

State laws do not allow a patient with an out-of-state medical marijuana card or certification to possess medical marijuana in Missouri.

Lab testing

Licensees are required to have cannabis tested by an independent laboratory. All hemp extract must be tested to meet the maximum potency requirements — less than 0.3% THC by weight, at least 5% CBD by weight, and containing no other psychoactive substances.

Licensing

All growers, manufacturers, processors, retailers, and delivery companies must be licensed by the state. Missouri allows vertically integrated operations. See the FAQ page for updates .

CBD and hemp rules

Is CBD oil illegal in Missouri?

To access CBD oil legally in Missouri, a patient must be approved to participate in the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program, commonly called MHERP. Only patients diagnosed with intractable epilepsy are eligible to participate in this program. Patients younger than 18 must register with a parent or guardian.

Patients must apply for a hemp extract registration card allowing the patient to purchase CBD oil from one of two state-licensed facilities. The director’s office of the Division of Community and Public Health oversees the MHERP. Patients also must submit a completed hemp extract registration card indicating that a state-licensed neurologist diagnosed the individual with intractable epilepsy and recommends treatment with hemp extract.

In 2018, the federal Farm Bill removed hemp from the list of controlled substances and effectively legalized hemp and hemp products nationally. Despite this, the MHERP remains in place for medical marijuana patients in Missouri. According to Missouri state authorities who spoke to Weedmaps, all rules and regulations established through the MHERP are intact and operational.

Do you need a prescription for CBD oil in Missouri?

Although a neurologist’s recommendation is not a “prescription,” a recommendation nonetheless functions much the same as a prescription. Patients need one before they can buy CBD oil.

The 2014 Missouri Medical Marijuana Bill requires patients who want to purchase, possess, and consume CBD oil to register first through the MHERP. One key step in signing up for this program is to receive an official evaluation, diagnosis, and recommendation to use CBD oil from a state-approved neurologist.

Before issuing the recommendation, the neurologist must confirm that the patient has intractable epilepsy and that the patient is not responding to at least three treatment options. If all conditions are met, the neurologist may issue the patient a recommendation for the MHERP.

Application process

  • Complete and submit a Missouri Hemp Registration Card application form.
  • Submit a Missouri hemp extract registration neurologist certification form signed by a board-certified neurologist licensed to practice in Missouri, including proof that the physician believes CBD may be useful to the patient.
  • Submit a copy of a valid Missouri state ID card or driver’s license for proof of age and residency.
  • Submit a copy of a record of the neurologist’s evaluation and observation related to the patient’s treatment for intractable epilepsy, along with medical records.

A valid registration card is needed to obtain CBD oil. Cards are valid for one year, and there is no fee to obtain or renew a registration card.

Possession

Patients and their caregivers may not carry more than the legal limit of 20 fluid ounces, or 591.5 milliliters, of low-THC hemp extract. However, if a Missouri physician has signed a waiver, patients may legally obtain and possess more than 20 fluid ounces, or 591.5 milliliters, of CBD oil.

Possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana flower or synthetic marijuana is a misdemeanor. Patients or individuals not registered as patients who knowingly maintain a location where more than 35 grams, or 1.23 ounces, of marijuana is stored, manufactured, distributed, or sold could face felony charges and prison time.

The information contained in this site is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as medical or legal advice.

This page was last updated on September 15, 2020.

View the cannabis & CBD laws & regulations for Missouri.

CBD Oil Missouri: Is Cbd Legal In Missouri & Where To Buy?

More and more Americans are using CBD to either improve their well-being or general health. The plant-based CBD has powerful treatment capabilities for specific conditions like depression, anxiety, epilepsy, insomnia, among others. It also improves the digestive system, skin, and organ health.

Missouri has the most significant number of CBD retailers in the United States and a rapid influx of vape shops around the state selling CBD products. However, Missouri CBD users are confronted with a seemingly complex contradictory legal framework as they try to find out whether or not use, and ownership of CBD is allowed in Missouri under state and federal law.

Is CBD Legal in Missouri?

Missouri was the 2 nd largest hemp producer behind Kentucky. Hemp cultivation in Missouri State can be traced back to 1835. In 1844, Missouri hemp farmers produced 12,500 tons of hemp.

However, back then, hemp was more labor-intensive than other crops, had less profit, and without slave labor by the end of the Civil war, hemp production had dropped off significantly.

In the 1930s, the “Reefer Madness” mentality was promoted by the US federal government to demonize cannabis, it lasted for decades, and Is still prevalent today. However, near the end of the 20 th century, states started to defy federal law by legalizing the use of weed for medicinal purposes, and things began to change.

However, it wasn’t until 2014 that Missouri started to catch on. At the time, the US government considered marijuana and hemp the same plant. Missouri lawmakers then created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program in the same year to allow the use of low-THC hemp extract in treating intractable epilepsy and approving patients to purchase low-THC hemp extracts from ‘cannabidiol oil care centers’ regulated by the state.

The federal government also passed legislation at the end of 2014 that permitted state universities to implement hemp pilot programs to study further the processing and cultivation of hemp, which helped speed up the process.

The Missouri General Assembly then passed a measure in 2018 to remove hemp from marijuana definition. The Industrial Hemp Research Program was created to leverage the 2014 law, and universities in Missouri were allowed to plant hemp for a research basis, starting with the 2019 growing season.

The federal government then went a step further to legalize the commercial cultivation as well as the sale of hemp at the end of 2018. In July 2019, a bill was signed into law that made Missouri the 32 nd state to legalize medical marijuana. With time, Missouri might legalize marijuana as well, with ten marijuana legalization petitions being circulated to be added into the 2020 ballot.

To legally use CBD oil in Missouri, you should be approved by the MHERP to participate as a patient. Patients eligible to participate in this program are those diagnosed with intractable epilepsy.

Since August 3, 2019, Missouri started accepting licensed dispensary facility applications; hence patients or licensed caregivers can legally obtain and possess cannabis. However, the Missouri medical laws, patience below 18 years should have the consent of the parent or guardian to apply for a registration card, certified by their physician.

At the cost of $25, medical use and caregiver identification cards are available via the DHSS website. With the cards, purchases are restricted to state-licensed dispensaries. However, the use and possession of marijuana for recreational purposes is illegal in Missouri.

It is also illegal to consume marijuana in public spaces open to the general public like streets, sidewalks, businesses, schools, and parks. However, the state’s hemp laws don’t specify whether the use and possession of CBD oil are legal.

It seems like the Missouri law enforcement agencies have no interest in indicting those in possession of hemp-derived CBD because there are countless shops in the state that are already selling hemp CBD oil regardless of the gray areas in the law regarding CBD.

There are two sets of marijuana laws in Missouri – those concerning medical marijuana patients and everyone else. Medical marijuana patients are allowed to purchase CBD oil products with their cards at state-licensed dispensaries.

Why You Should Buy CBD Oil Online

Ordering CBD oil products online has many advantages. For instance, you will have a much wider range of online retailers to choose from. You will also experience the ease of ordering and accessing CBD oil products from the comfort of your house.

There are also cheaper options online, and you can easily follow up on the legitimacy of the sellers. You can also access third-party lab testing results to know the purity and potency of the product you are about to buy.

Are you looking to buy CBD oil products in Missouri but you’re not sure whether it’s legal or not? Read to make an informed decision.