Categories
BLOG

medical marijuana card nevada

How to get a Nevada medical marijuana card in 2019

In serious pain? Find relief with a Nevada medical marijuana card

Since 2015, Nevada residents are finding serious medical relief from marijuana. (Photo: NuggMD)

Medicinal cannabis is legal in Nevada thanks to the Medical Marijuana Act, also known as Ballot Question 9, which passed in November of 2000. However, the Nevada Medical Marijuana Cardholders/Caregivers Program wasn’t operational until 2015. Now three short years later, it’s flourishing as more citizens are finding serious medical relief from the plant. You can even become a patient entirely online with NuggMD. Think you can benefit too? Get your Nevada Medical Marijuana Card now.

How recreational marijuana affects the Nevada MMJ program

Ballot Question 2 did more than legalize recreational cannabis; it made the Nevada MMJ program more important and relevant than ever before. Huge positive public opinion towards medical cannabis has led to program-wide improvements, the biggest being the state application process can now be completed online. So, getting your medical marijuana card in Sparks, Henderson or Carson City has never been easier. No more waiting in traffic only to wait in line at the doctor and DMV!

How to get a Nevada medical marijuana card

The first step is to get an evaluation from a medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy to determine if your condition(s) qualify.

You now have the option of seeing a certified doctor by video conference using NuggMD, the nation’s leading telemedicine provider, to get a MMJ recommendation using your laptop or phone. Their cannabis concierge can even help you complete the state application before submitting (don’t forget a copy of your driver’s license/state ID and applicable medical records). All this for only $79 for a one-year recommendation or $99 for a two-year recommendation! (*additional state application fees apply)

Currently, only these medical conditions qualifying for medical marijuana use in Nevada:

  • Severe pain
  • Severe nausea
  • AIDS
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • PTSD
  • Cachexia (general physical wasting and malnutrition from chronic disease)
  • Persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis)
  • Seizures (including epilepsy)

If you’re approved, the doctor will provide a form confirming your status to include with your state application.

Nevadans now can apply for a medical marijuana card online. (Photo: NuggMD)

The benefits of having a Nevada medical marijuana card

Once you are approved by one of NuggMD’s licensed MMJ doctors, you’ll receive a Nevada state card. Every legitimate patient and caregiver carries this official documentation, which entitles you to certain benefits recreational users don’t have, including:

  • 10% Savings on Every Purchase. Unlike recreational users, medical marijuana patients in Nevada are exempt from paying the 10% retail excise tax.
  • Higher Purchasing Limits. Ability to purchase 2.5 ounces of marijuana every two weeks compared to 1 ounce for recreational users.
  • Access for patients under 21 years old. Although you have to be over 21 years old to buy recreationally, there is no minimum age requirement for medical marijuana cardholders.
  • Possible exemption from the state’s rule that forbids growing cannabis within 25 miles of the nearest storefront dispensary. For instance, you can grow strains that aren’t commercially available near you if your doctor says you need them.

Also, Nevada provides reciprocity to out-of-state cannabis patients. This means that Nevada marijuana dispensaries will accept out-of-state medical marijuana patients. For instance, if your home state requires a state-issued ID, then you’ll just need to bring this ID with you to Nevada. If you’re from California, all you will need is your doctor’s recommendation and ID, since that’s all that California requires, just as if you were at your home dispensary. So, the dispensary will accept whatever ID your home state accepts, but you must abide by Nevada’s purchase limits and laws while you are there. So, even though you might be able to purchase 8 ounces at a time in California, you can only purchase 2.5 ounces every 14 days in Nevada.

Please remember it’s still illegal to smoke or vape in public places, including hotels with no-smoking policies. Violations can result in hefty fines. So, if you’re using your medical marijuana card in Las Vegas, Henderson, or Reno while you visit a casino, you should ask what their smoking policy is first before booking.

Application fee

The Nevada MMJ program charges a non-refundable application processing and registration fee of $50 annually and $100 every two years. The state doesn’t offer fee waivers so be sure yours is properly filled out and double checked by NuggMD before submitting. Otherwise, you’ll have to pay it again, and who wants that?

If the state deems MMJ fit to treat your condition(s), you’ll receive your registry ID card by mail in a few days while your digital copy is emailed within 24 hours. Now you can benefit from medical marijuana in Nevada!

Avoiding application rejection

The main reason why potential Nevada MMJ applications are rejected is incomplete or missing info. As mentioned, NuggMD’s medical cannabis concierge team will review and double check yours — all you have to do is ask.

If you possess a commercial driver’s license and drive for a living you’re ineligible for a Nevada medical marijuana card. In some cases, criminal convictions can prevent you from obtaining a card, though these typically do not include minor drug possession charges.

Now that you know its advantages, visit NuggMD and discover if a Nevada medical marijuana card can help improve your life!

Think you’ve got what it takes to join NuggMD’s family of dedicated medical practitioners? Contact them at [email protected] today to find out more.

Members of the editorial and news staff of the USA TODAY Network were not involved in the creation of this content.

In serious pain? Find relief with a Nevada medical marijuana card

OBTAINING A MEDICAL CARD

A Step-By-Step Process for

Obtaining Your Medical Marijuana Card

in Nevada

There are two options for obtaining a card:
  1. Work with a full service provider who will process all paperwork required with the state of Nevada. We have listed a few full service providers below.
  2. Visit a doctor of your choosing which will require you to handle some paperwork yourself. We have listed doctor’s who accomodate to medical marijuana patients below.
Resources in the Reno/Sparks/Carson area:

If you obtain copies of your medical records to bring with you to your doctor’s appointment, it will help demonstrate a history of a chronic or debilitating condition and/or an established need for cannabis as medicine. The following doctors are familiar with the referral process and have all the appropriate paperwork that is required by the State of Nevada:

Dept. of Public & Behavioral Health
Medical Marijuana Program
(775) 687-7594 | FAX (775)
684-4156
http://dpbh.nv.gov
4150 Technology Way, Suite #101
Carson City, NV 89706
Hours: Monday – Friday 8AM-5PM

Kind Releaf Consultants
By appointments only
1000 Bible Way #31
Reno, NV 89502
(775) 224-2344

Elements Health Center
Hours: Monday – Friday 10AM-6PM
3502 S. Virginia St. #A6
Reno, NV 89502
(775) 378-2894

Dr. Gail P. Krivans, MD
Hours: Monday – Thursday 10AM-5PM
707 N. Minnesota St, Suite A
Carson City, NV 89503
(775) 461-3132

Dr. Zeller – Family Quick Care Clinic
Hours: Monday – Friday 9AM-5PM

518 Pyramid Way
Sparks, NV 89431
(775) 800-1587

411 E. Taylor St.
Reno, NV 89502
(775) 786-3330

If you decide to visit a doctor of your choosing, please follow these steps:
  1. Download this application, complete it and send to the Department of Health and Human Service with a check or money order for $25. You may also submit the application electronically, through the online cardholder registry, via this link, if you have the means to scan and upload a front/back copy of your Nevada Driver’s License or Identification Card.
  2. The State of Nevada will send you the paperwork required for your doctor to complete.
  3. When your doctor completes the paperwork, return your paperwork to the Department of Health and Human Services with a check for either $50 (one year card) or $100 (two year card).
  4. After the State performs a background check, they will mail you a letter stating that you were accepted into the Medical Marijuana Registry. Shortly after receiving your approval letter you will receive your Nevada State Medical Marijuana card.

If you are a Nevada patient, you will need to bring in your approval letter OR medical card and your Nevada Driver’s License or Identification Card. Click here to fill out the In-State Patient Form ahead of time, or stop by the dispensary to grab a copy!

If you are an out-of-state patient, you will need to bring your medical recommendation and a Driver’s License/Identification card from a state other than Nevada OR a Passport. Click here to fill out the New Out-of-State Patient Forms, or stop by the dispensary to grab copies!

Welcome New Patients! Learn more about obtaining your Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada. Silver State is your educational resource.