LEARN | LAWS & REGULATION
Is weed legal in Illinois?
Yes. Both medical and recreational cannabis are legal in the Land of Lincoln.
Illinois passed its first cannabis legislation, outlawing recreational marijuana, in 1931. Cannabis use remained illegal under Illinois marijuana laws until the Cannabis Control Act of 1978 . While this Illinois marijuana bill technically legalized medical cannabis, the Department of Human Services and the Illinois State Police never crafted regulations.
Finally, in 2013, Illinois passed its first viable medical cannabis law when Gov. Pat Quinn signed the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act . This bill legalized the cultivation, sale, and use of medical marijuana in the state and charged the departments of Public Health (DPH), Agriculture, and Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) with composing the rules necessary to implement the pilot program.
Dispensaries began their first sales to qualified patients in November 2015. Legislative changes over the years opened up the program to many more patients, added conditions, allowed people with opioid prescriptions to qualify for medical cannabis use, and made the medical cannabis pilot program permanent.
In 2016, Illinois decriminalized marijuana possession , meaning that those caught with 10 grams or less would face a $100 to $200 fine instead of jail time.
The Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act became the law of the land when Governor Pritzker signed the legislation on June 25, 2019. This act legalized cannabis for adult use, making the state the 11th in the nation to do so. With Senate floor amendment 2 , Illinois became the first state in history to legalize cannabis usage via legislation rather than public referendum. The landmark legalization also triggered the expungement of hundreds of thousands of records of cannabis possession under 30 grams prior to legalization. The legislation formally went into effect and sales began on January 1, 2020.
The Illinois Department of Public Health regulates the medical marijuana program on behalf of patients, caregivers, and physicians. The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is responsible for regulating dispensing centers . The Illinois Department of Agriculture licenses cultivation centers throughout the state.
Where is it safe to purchase weed in Illinois?
Registered patients and caregivers may legally purchase medical cannabis at a dispensary. Medical patients are responsible for a 1% pharmaceutical tax, while cultivators and dispensaries must pay a 7% of the sales price per ounce. Patients and caregivers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of usable cannabis per 14-day period.
Qualifying patients may purchase medical cannabis only from their chosen dispensary, as indicated in their initial registry application form. A patient can change their selected dispensary at any time free of charge by completing the Medical Cannabis Selection Form .
Adults over the age of 18 can purchase cannabis for recreational use at any one of Illinois’ many adult-use dispensaries. Like their medical counterparts, adult-use growers pay a 7% tax but only on their first sale. Dispensaries, however, pay 10% tax on products with less than 35% THC, 25% on products with more than 35% THC, and 20% on any infused products.
While medical dispensaries are exempt from any local taxes, adult-use shops pay the state’s 6.25% tax as well as any local taxes, though cities can’t tax more than 3% and counties are limited to 3.75%. Shoppers can expect those taxes to be built into the price of weed.
Where is it safe to consume cannabis?
Consuming cannabis in any public place or where it would reasonably endanger the health or well-being of another person is prohibited. Consumption on school grounds is prohibited, with the exception of minors who may bring their medicine to school and consume under the supervision of a parent, guardian, caregiver, or school nurse. Minors are not allowed to smoke or vape cannabis.
Consuming marijuana before operating any vehicle or before undertaking tasks that would constitute negligence or professional malpractice will subject violators to similar penalties as alcohol-related driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offenses.
Patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of cannabis or cannabis products during any 14-day period. Patients can ask their doctor for a recommendation to possess more cannabis if needed. Medical marijuana cardholders can transport cannabis inside secure, sealed containers that are inaccessible while driving. Neither drivers nor passengers may consume cannabis inside a vehicle.
Schools, employers, and landlords cannot refuse to enroll, employ, or lease an apartment to a medical marijuana consumer solely based on their status as a patient or caregiver.
Patients may not give away medical cannabis. Caregivers can purchase or possess cannabis medicine on behalf of their designated patient only. Adults can give away cannabis to anyone over the age of 21 provided no payment changes hands.
The possession limits for Illinois residents over the age of 21 are:
- 30 grams of raw cannabis flower
- No more than 500 milligrams of THC in cannabis-infused products
- 5 grams of cannabis concentrates
Out-of-state visitors over the age of 21 may possess:
- 15 grams of flower
- No more than 250 milligrams of THC in cannabis-infused products
- 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrates
Is home cultivation allowed in Illinois?
Only registered patients and caregivers may cultivate cannabis.
Regulations require that medicinal gardens:
- Be in an enclosed, locked space
- Contain no more than five plants more than 5 inches tall
- Are not visible by the public
- Occur only on residential property owned by the cultivator or with the consent of the owner
Getting your Illinois medical marijuana card
The Illinois Department of Public Health oversees the state’s Medical Cannabis Patient Registry Program . Prospective patients can apply online or print an application and mail it. Patients must be at least 18 years old and not hold a school bus driver permit or commercial driver’s license, or be an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, probation officer, or firefighter.
The most current list of qualifying conditions is available on the Illinois Department of Health website .
Patients must be residents of Illinois and remain so during their participation in the medical cannabis program. Patients must have one of the qualifying conditions and obtain a written certification from a recommending physician licensed to practice medicine in Illinois. This form is provided to patients as a part of their complete application for a medical cannabis registry card.
Veterans receiving care from the Veterans Affairs (VA) office don’t need to submit a physician’s certification. Instead, they must provide medical records from the VA facility documenting the last 12 months of treatment. These records can be requested electronically or by mail and must be submitted with the patient’s medical marijuana application form.
Minor medical marijuana patients must first obtain a physician’s certification that confirms the patient has a qualifying medical condition. A reviewing physician must then review the patients’ medical history and confirm the patient was correctly diagnosed. Both forms must be submitted with a minor’s complete medical cannabis registry application.
Minors may designate one caregiver at no charge on their own application and may add a second and third one by submitting a caregiver application and a $75 fee per caregiver. Minors may only use cannabis-infused products.
- Obtain a written certification from a doctor to confirm the diagnosis of a qualifying condition.
- Complete and sign the state’s medical cannabis application form. This form requires prospective patients to choose the dispensary they will visit and designate a caregiver, as needed. Patients can change their chosen dispensary at a later date.
- Pay an application fee. Patients can choose a one-, two-, or three-year card and pay accordingly. Rates are reduced for veterans and patients with disabilities.
- Include a passport-size photo taken in front of a plain, white background.
- Prove Illinois residency with two separate documents. Copies of utility bills, bank statements, state IDs, driver’s licenses, and voter ID cards are acceptable forms of proof.
- Prove age and identity with a copy of a valid government-issued photo ID.
- Include a caregiver application, the accompanying fee, and other forms if a patient requires a caregiver.
- If patients are being treated at a VA facility, they can send 12 months of medical records from the VA in the place of a physician’s written certification.
Terminally ill patients diagnosed with six months or less to live can register for free.
Patients with a prescription for opioids can apply for the medical marijuana program online with a doctor’s written certification. These patients will receive a temporary receipt, which they can present to a dispensary to buy medical cannabis while their applications are in process.
A registered caregiver is someone licensed to assist a registered patient with the purchase and use of medical cannabis. They must be at least 21 years old and residents of Illinois who agree, in writing, to assist the patient. The state conducts a background check. Registered caregivers may serve only one patient at a time, and they cannot receive compensation for their services.
Caregiver registry process
- Submit a caregiver application either with the designated patient’s application submission or independently at a later date.
- Pay an application fee. Caregivers can choose a one-, two-, or three-year card and pay accordingly.
- Include a passport-size photo taken in front of a plain white background.
- Prove Illinois residency with two separate documents.
- Prove age and identity with a copy of a valid government-issued photo ID.
Who can provide a medical cannabis recommendation?
Physicians are responsible for providing written certifications that confirm that a patient has a qualifying debilitating condition.
To provide a written certification, physicians must complete a full, in-person assessment of the patient’s medical history and qualifying condition in the course of a bona fide physician-patient relationship. The written certification must also state that the patient is in the physician’s continuing care for the treatment of the qualifying debilitating condition.
Does Illinois allow reciprocity?
No, only registered residents of Illinois can purchase medical marijuana products from a dispensary. However, any adult over the age of 21 can purchase cannabis at a dispensary and possess up to:
- 15 grams of cannabis flower.
- 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
- 250 milligrams of THC in cannabis-infused products.
All cannabis and cannabis-infused products must be tested in a state-approved lab. Cannabis and cannabis products must be tested for cannabinoid profiles, pesticides, microbiological contaminants, mycotoxins, and residual solvents.
This page was last updated September 29, 2020.
View the marijuana laws & regulations for Illinois.
Medical Cannabis Patient Registry Program
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program
In August 2013, Illinois became the 20th state to authorize a program for the cultivation and dispensing of cannabis for medical purposes. The Medical Cannabis Registry Program is a statewide program that allows patients access to medical marijuana who meet one of the qualifying conditions. The Illinois Department of Public Health manages the registry by reviewing and processing applications and issuing registry cards to Illinois residents meeting program requirements. IDPH protects patient confidentiality while striving to ensure timely accessibility to cannabis for registered patients.
Illinois Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act
PA 098-0122 – enacted 1/1/2014
- Authorized Medical Cannabis Pilot Program; sunset 6/30/2018
PA 099-0775 – enacted 7/21/2014
- Added seizure disorders to the definition of “debilitating condition”
- Allows persons under age 18 to apply for a medical cannabis registration card
PA 099-519 – enacted 6/30/2016
- Extended the pilot program through June 30, 2020
- Added PTSD to the definition of “debilitating condition” and added a terminal illness eligibility category
- Established a three-year cycle for patient applications
PA 100-0660 – enacted 8/1/2018
- Ashley’s Law – Allows caregivers of minor registered patients to administer medical cannabis on school property
PA 100-1114 – enacted 8/28/2018
- Established the Opioid Alternative Pilot Program
- Provisional access to dispensaries for medical cannabis patient applicants
- Removed fingerprinting requirements and eliminated disqualifying criminal offenses
- Prohibits organizations from charging a fee to assist patients with application
- House Bill 2023 – sent to the Governor 7/12/2019
- Will make the Medical Cannabis Pilot Program (and OAPP) permanent
- Allows veterans receiving medical services at VA facilities to participate in OAPP
- Adds Physician Assistant (PA), Advance Practice Nurses (APN) and Nurse Practitioners (NP) to licensed professions which can issue a certification for medical cannabis for both OAPP and MCPP
- Adds new conditions – Autism, chronic pain, irritable bowel syndrome, migraines, osteoarthritis, anorexia nervosa, Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Neuro-Bechet’s Autoimmune Disease, neuropathy, polycystic kidney disease, superior canal dehiscence syndrome and expands Crohn’s disease to include ulcerative colitis
- Allows up to three (3) caregivers for adult patients and minor patients (launch date to be determined)
- Requires immediate dispensary changes for MCPP patients
P.A. 101-0027 – enacted 6/25/19
- Cannabis Regulations & Tax Act (Adult Use Recreational Marijuana) Program
- Allows registered medical cannabis patients to grow up to 5 cannabis plants for personal consumption
Senate Bill 0455 – sent to Governor on 6/19/19
- Amends Ashley’s Law
- Allows Illinois schools to allow a school nurse or school administrator to administer a medical cannabis-infused product to a registered minor qualifying patient
- Requires ISBE and IDPH to develop a training program for school nurses
Monthly Medical Cannabis Patient Program data can be found on the statewide Medical Cannabis Pilot Program website.
Educational Resource – Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) – https://www.cdc.gov
IDPH does not offer onsite assistance, but we are able to answer your questions or process your requests via email.
Opioid Alternative Pilot Program – [email protected]
Medical Cannabis Program representatives are available by phone at 1-855-636-3688 Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program In August 2013, Illinois became the 20th state to authorize a program for the cultivation and dispensing of cannabis for medical purposes. The Medical Cannabis Registry Program is a statewide program that allows patients access to medical marijuana who meet one of the qualifying conditions. The Illinois Department of Public Health