Marijuana in Connecticut
Recreational Use of Marijuana is Decriminalized
Connecticut has decriminalized marijuana. In general, decriminalization means no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal use. This conduct is treated like a minor traffic violation.” – Source Info at NORML
Possession one-half ounce or less results in a civil penalty of $150 to $500 (first and second offenses). Possession of more than one-half ounce is a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $2,000 and up to one year of jail time.
Hash and Concentrates:
Rules are the same as for dry plant material.
Having paraphernalia to use for ingesting for smoking results in a civil penalty for less than one-haft ounces and a misdemeanor for more than one-half ounce.
Driving Under the Influence:
CT has a per se “drugged driving” law enacted that acts similar to those for alcohol. In their strictest form, these laws forbid drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug in their bodily fluids above a specific threshold.
Find information on the medical and recreation marijuana laws in Connecticut. Learn more about the distribution and sale of marijuana in Connecticut.